Feeling, Music and Apps

I heard the song in a taxi in Accra (Ghana) in the second half of 2007 and I was touched. I must admit I didn’t have a clue about who was singing.

I heard the song again in the first half of 2008 at a maquis (restaurant) in Monrovia, Liberia. I was lucky to be with a lady who told me the singer is Jimmy Cliff.

Later I bought the Best of Jimmy Cliff on Amazon, so I now listen to this piece of music every time my Ipod plays it randomly.

If I had the application Shazam in the Ghanaian taxi and an internet connection (I didn’t have a smartphone anyway) I would have probably found out immediately.

I discovered the mobile application Shazam at the concert of Portishead early October in Montreal where the English band started their tour in North America. A group of people was using this app as music was broadcast before the concert kicked off. Shazam identifies music being played and gathers information such as the artist, song title, and album. That’s very useful to recognize a song being played and it works well.

My imagination did not know Shazam a few days before when I was walking on a street, thinking of a song I wanted to hear at that exact time: Beck’s Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime, cover song of The Korgis for the film Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

If had had the application Shazam on my mobile, I would not have been able to listen to this song as it wasn’t playing in reality – only in my mind. I could have found the track with another application called SoundHound, which helps search music by speaking the name of an artist or band.

But how many times does it happen that the name of the artist and song is on the tip of your tongue and all you remember is the tune?

Laisser un commentaire

